Study in Italy for Indian Students: Visa, Fees and Scholarships, 2026-27

Italy is not free, and the visa funds figure differs between the foreign ministry and the Bangalore consulate. Here is the real process for Indian students: pre-enrolment on Universitaly, the Type D visa, what two big universities charge, and the €10,800 government scholarship.
By Mandeep Aulakh · Published 14 October 2026
The short answer: pre-enrol on Universitaly, then apply for a Type D visa, and expect to pay tuition
To study in Italy for a full degree, an Indian student first pre-enrols on the Universitaly portal, then applies for a Type D (long-stay) visa at the Italian consulate. A Type D visa is for programmes longer than 90 days, and the Mumbai consulate says it can take up to 90 days from the day it receives the application. The Mumbai consulate also says pre-enrolment for academic year 2026/27 is open.
Italian public universities are not free. Bologna's fixed first instalment alone is €157.04, and Politecnico di Milano's first instalment is €880.04. What you pay beyond that depends on the university and, for some, on family income. Scholarships exist, including an Italian government award worth €10,800 in total, but its 2026-27 deadline was 26 March 2026.
| Item | What the official source says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-enrolment | Required on Universitaly for non-EU applicants outside Italy who need a Type D visa to enrol at a recognised institution; 2026/27 is open | Consulate General of Italy, Mumbai; Bangalore consulate checklist |
| Visa type | Type D for programmes over 90 days; C for under 90 days | Consulate General of Italy, Mumbai |
| Processing time | Up to 90 days from receipt | Mumbai and Bangalore consulates |
| Proof of funds | €10,179.85 a year for 2026-27 and 2027-28 (foreign ministry FAQ); the Bangalore consulate's 2025-26 checklist lists €6,947.33 for one year, so the two differ | Italian foreign ministry FAQ; Bangalore consulate checklist |
| Work while studying | Up to 20 hours a week, no more than 1,040 hours a year | Italian foreign ministry FAQ |
| Programmes in English | More than 500 | Embassy of Italy, New Delhi |
Study in Italy at a glance, from official Italian government and university pages
Step 1: pre-enrol on Universitaly
After you have been admitted to a course, you apply for pre-enrolment on the Universitaly portal. The Bangalore consulate's checklist says this procedure applies to all non-EU applicants living outside Italy who need a Type D study visa to enrol in an Italian higher education institution recognised by the Ministry of Education. The Bangalore checklist adds that applicants have no legal right to be issued a visa, only a legitimate interest in having their application processed under Italian law.
The Embassy of Italy in New Delhi points Indian students to Universitaly for pre-enrolment for English-taught courses and for the IMAT test for Medicine and Surgery. It says Italy offers more than 500 study programmes in English, and that Uni-Italia has an office in Mumbai and a representative in Delhi.
Step 2: the Type D visa, and what the Bangalore checklist asks for
The Bangalore consulate's checklist for 2025-2026 is the most detailed India-specific document we found, and the Mumbai and New Delhi offices may ask for different things, so check the checklist for the consulate that serves your state. It asks for a passport valid for at least 3 months beyond the whole study programme, with at least 2 blank pages, an admission letter from the Italian institution, and your Universitaly pre-enrolment summary if the institution requires it.
Study certificates must be attested and apostilled for fresh admission. A Declaration of Value or a CIMEA certificate is needed only if the Italian institution requires one. You must show a language level of at least B2, in Italian or English, which the Universitaly pre-enrolment certificate can prove. You also need medical insurance of at least €30,000 valid for the first 6 months with a repatriation clause, a one-way flight booking, and proof of accommodation for at least 30 days.
Mumbai adds that all students must attend a mandatory video interview when submitting a visa application. Bangalore says to book the appointment with your own email and phone number and strongly discourages the involvement of agents. For the 2025/26 intake, Bangalore stopped accepting bachelor's and master's visa applications after 28 November 2025, so check the equivalent date for 2026/27.
The money: two different visa funds figures
Two official sources give different amounts for the funds you must show. The Italian foreign ministry's FAQ says a university enrolment visa needs a minimum of €10,179.85 a year, and it states that figure for the 2026-2027 and 2027-2028 academic years (you prove it for the first year only). The Bangalore consulate's 2025-26 checklist asks for no less than €6,947.33 for one year (13 months), or €534.41 for each month of the intended stay, with an original 6-month bank statement.
The ministry's figure is the one it states for 2026-27, while the Bangalore checklist is for 2025-26, and we did not find a 2026-27 version of that checklist when we looked. Consulates apply their own checklists, so confirm the figure with the consulate you will apply to, for your intake, before you move money.
Is study in Italy free? What Bologna and Polimi charge
No, but it can be cheaper than other European countries. The two universities below are not typical of every Italian university, and each sets its own rules. At the University of Bologna for 2026/27, the tuition fee has a fixed first instalment of €157.04 plus a variable part. Citizens of non-EU, non-OECD countries whose family has income and/or assets only outside Italy can pay a reduced flat fee instead, and the page does not list which countries fall in each group, so check Bologna's country lists to see where India sits.
At Politecnico di Milano for 2026/27, the first instalment is €880.04 on enrolment and the second instalment ranges from €0 to €3,003.00, with a regional tax of €130 to €190. Polimi's page also says non-EU master's (Laurea Magistrale) students with a foreign first-level degree, admitted without any economic benefit such as a scholarship, must pay the full all-inclusive contribution. The page does not state that amount, so ask Polimi what it comes to for your course before you plan around the lower end of the range.
| University | Fixed or first instalment | Variable or second instalment | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Bologna: standard | €157.04 | Variable, based on programme and family finances | Not stated on the page we read |
| University of Bologna: reduced flat fee, non-OECD citizens (first or single cycle) | €157.04 | €1,000 (€1,200 if you do not meet the credit minimum) | Family income and/or assets only outside Italy |
| University of Bologna: reduced flat fee, non-OECD citizens (second cycle) | €157.04 | €1,200 (€1,400 if you do not meet the credit minimum) | Family income and/or assets only outside Italy |
| Politecnico di Milano | €880.04 | €0 to €3,003.00 | Regional tax €130 to €190 |
What two Italian universities publish for 2026/27 (amounts in euros)
Scholarships: the Italian government award
The Italian foreign ministry (MAECI) offers scholarships to foreign students for study at Italian institutions. For 2026-27 the call says winners of the master's and PhD scholarships, and some other categories, receive a total of €10,800 in three instalments. The first, €5,500, is paid from November 2026 once your presence in Italy and enrolment are confirmed. The second, €2,300, is paid from February 2027 on continued enrolment, and the third, €3,000, from June 2027 once a master's student has earned 27 university credits (CFU) in 2026-27. Arriving on or after 16 November 2026 reduces the amount proportionally. The call's deadline was 26 March 2026, so it has closed for this year, and the list of eligible countries is on the Study in Italy portal rather than in the call.
The call requires a language level of at least B2, in Italian or in English, and says no proof of Italian is needed for programmes taught entirely in English. The New Delhi embassy says Indian students can apply for scholarships for master's, AFAM and PhD courses, and for research and advanced Italian language and culture courses. Plan for the next call rather than this one, and watch the Study in Italy portal for dates.
Universities and QS ranks
Three large universities report their QS World University Rankings 2027 positions on their own pages. These come from the universities' own announcements, not from QS's table.
| University | QS 2027 world rank | What the university says |
|---|---|---|
| Politecnico di Milano | 87 | First in Italy, its highest position ever |
| Sapienza University of Rome | 111 | Its best result ever; first among Italian generalist universities |
| University of Bologna | 123 | Third in Italy |
QS World University Rankings 2027, as reported by each university
Working while you study
The Italian foreign ministry says a student can hold a part-time job of up to 20 hours a week, even for the entire year, but for no more than 1,040 hours a year. We did not verify the rules for staying to work after graduation from a primary source, so we have not stated them here.
The honest bottom line
Italy works for Indian students who start early and read the consulate's own checklist, not a generic guide. Pre-enrol on Universitaly, prepare apostilled documents and a language certificate, and confirm the funds figure with your consulate, because the official sources differ. Tuition is real but varies a lot by university, so check each one's own fees page for your course before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is education free in Italy for Indian students?
No. Bologna's 2026/27 fixed first instalment is €157.04 plus a variable part, and Politecnico di Milano's first instalment is €880.04 with a second instalment of up to €3,003.00 and a regional tax of €130 to €190. Fees vary by university and some offer reduced flat fees.
How long does an Italian student visa take?
The Mumbai and Bangalore consulates both say a Type D long-stay visa can take up to 90 days from the day the consulate receives the application. Mumbai adds that more documents requested through an advance notice for refusal will likely push it beyond 90 days.
How much money must I show for an Italian student visa?
The Italian foreign ministry's FAQ says €10,179.85 a year, and states it for the 2026-2027 and 2027-2028 academic years. The Bangalore consulate's 2025-26 checklist asks for €6,947.33 for one year (13 months) or €534.41 a month. The two differ, so confirm the figure with the consulate you apply to, for your intake.
What is Universitaly pre-enrolment?
It is the online procedure on the Universitaly portal that non-EU applicants living outside Italy complete before applying for a Type D study visa to enrol at an Italian higher education institution recognised by the Ministry of Education. Mumbai says pre-enrolment for 2026/27 is open.
Do I need to speak Italian to study in Italy?
Not for English-taught programmes. Italy offers more than 500 programmes in English, per the Embassy of Italy in New Delhi. The Bangalore checklist asks for a language level of at least B2 in Italian or English, matched to the course language, and the government scholarship call says no Italian is required for programmes taught entirely in English.
Can I work while studying in Italy?
Yes. The Italian foreign ministry says a student can work part-time up to 20 hours a week, even for the whole year, but no more than 1,040 hours a year.
How much is the Italian government scholarship?
For 2026-27 the MAECI master's and PhD scholarships pay a total of €10,800 in three instalments: €5,500, €2,300 and €3,000, with the last tied to 27 credits for master's students. The application deadline was 26 March 2026, so it has closed for this year. Eligible countries are listed on the Study in Italy portal.
Do I need a Declaration of Value or CIMEA certificate?
Only if the Italian institution you are applying to requires one. The Mumbai and Bangalore consulates both say it applies if the institution requires it, and Bangalore lists a Declaration of Value or a CIMEA certificate as one of the possible proofs of previous education.
Which is the best-ranked university in Italy?
Politecnico di Milano reports itself first in Italy at 87th in the QS World University Rankings 2027. Sapienza reports 111th and Bologna 123rd. These are the universities' own reported positions.
Sources
Type D visa for programmes over 90 days, processing up to 90 days, mandatory video interview, Universitaly pre-enrolment for 2026/27 open, Declaration of Value only if required
Consulate General of Italy, Mumbai — Study in Italy, fetched 2026-10-13 ↗Bangalore study visa (D) checklist 2025-2026: documents, apostille, B2 language, insurance €30,000, funds €6,947.33 per year or €534.41 per month, 28 November 2025 cut-off for the 2025/26 intake
Consulate General of Italy, Bengaluru — Requisites for Study Visa (D) 2025-2026 (PDF), fetched 2026-10-13 ↗Part-time work up to 20 hours a week and 1,040 hours a year; minimum financial resources €10,179.85 a year for a university enrolment visa, stated for the 2026-2027 and 2027-2028 academic years
Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs — Study in Italy FAQ, fetched 2026-10-13 ↗More than 500 programmes in English; Universitaly for pre-enrolment and the IMAT test; Indian students can apply for scholarships; Uni-Italia office in Mumbai
Embassy of Italy, New Delhi — Study in Italy, fetched 2026-10-13 ↗MAECI scholarships 2026-27: €10,800 total in three instalments (€5,500 from November 2026, €2,300 from February 2027, €3,000 from June 2027 on 27 credits) for master's, PhD and some other categories; deadline 26 March 2026; B2 language level; eligible countries on the Study in Italy portal
Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs — Call for applications 2026-2027 (PDF), extracted 2026-10-13 ↗Bologna 2026/27: fixed first instalment €157.04; reduced flat fees for non-OECD and developing-country citizens with family income and assets only outside Italy
University of Bologna — Reduced fixed fee page, fetched 2026-10-13 ↗Politecnico di Milano 2026/27: first instalment €880.04, second instalment €0 to €3,003.00, regional tax €130 to €190
Politecnico di Milano — Tuition fees, fetched 2026-10-13 ↗Politecnico di Milano ranked 87th, first in Italy, in QS World University Rankings 2027
Politecnico di Milano — QS World University Rankings 2027 news, checked 2026-10-13 ↗Sapienza ranked 111th in QS World University Rankings 2027
Sapienza University of Rome — QS 2027 news, checked 2026-10-13 ↗Bologna ranked 123rd and 3rd in Italy in QS World University Rankings 2027
University of Bologna — QS World University Rankings page, checked 2026-10-13 ↗Figures and rules change; always confirm against the official source for your application date.
Have a question this didn't answer?
Every situation is different. Talk to a counsellor for advice specific to your profile, budget, and timeline.





